

VETERANS HONOR CORD AND SCHOLARSHIP CEREMONY

April 29, 2025Tate Student Center Grand Hall





- PROGRAM -

- WELCOME -

Jon Segars, Director, Student Veterans Resource Center

- OPENING REMARKS -

Jere W. Morehead, President of the University of Georgia

- 2025 HONOR CORD CEREMONY -

Jere W. Morehead, President of the University of Georgia

- SPRING 2025 AWARDS & SCHOLARSHIPS -

Jon Segars, Director, Student Veterans Resource Center

- CLOSING REMARKS -

Michelle G. Cook, Vice President for Student Affairs

- RECEPTION -

- TRADITION OF THE HONOR CORD -

THE RED. WHITE AND BLUE HONOR CORD

Dating back centuries, honor cords are traditionally awarded to students to signify achievement in various academic and extra-curricular activities.

Military honor cords are different in that they represent an individual's academic excellence and a commitment to service where each took an oath to support and defend the Constitution of the United States and the freedoms which we enjoy.

Military honor cords are not for club membership, but rather a reminder of the many sacrifices by our Veterans, Soldiers, Marines, Sailors, Airmen, and Guardians. Unlike other professions, the armed services come with no geographic boundaries or standard work hours and require leaders to sometimes place themselves and their followers in harms' way.

These red, white and blue honor cords are a symbol of the dedication men and women exhibit in serving our nation and earning a degree at the University of Georgia.

– HONOR CORDS –

PRESENTED BY UGA PRESIDENT JERE W. MOREHEAD

John Barnett Nicholas Hardt Joseph Barr **Tiffany Horton** Matthew Blackburn **Taylor Howard** Scott Blackstock **Brown James** Sarah Bouchard Miguel Juarez Jackson Bradford Alanna Ledvina Jeff Leppo Randy Bynum Patrick Casey William Lord Gabriela Castillo Joseph Millunzi **Nelson Caviness Terry Moore** Jalynn Colvin Philip Newberry Aisha Cooper **Chad Paton Noell Phillips** Katie Cunningham Piper Drazek **Andrew Porras** Leisli Duran-Rosales Anna Raicovi Rvan Emilio **Nicholas Sesing** Lehman Smith Allen Espinal **Butler Evans** Tanya Smith Jason Fenn Laura Starling Susan Fitzmaurice Takeisha Tippins Alex George **Timothy Tucker** John Gooden John Vaught Tourgenia Greene Shuntorria Wallace

Jasmine Grier David White
John Gynnip Dylan Windish

- SPRING 2025 AWARDS & SCHOLARSHIPS -

Corporal Evan Andrew Marshall Memorial Scholarship

Jagger Anderson History
Layne Culberson Anthropology
Piper Drazek Economics
Blaze Fleeman Psychology
Dylan Windish Financial Planning

Reynolds Veterans Association Student Veterans Scholarship

JoseLuis Reyes Financial Planning Nicholas Sesing PhD in Chemistry

Frances Wood Wilson Foundation Award

Tiffany Horton Master of Public Health
John Morris Political Science
Doriana Serrano Public Relations
Eseta Te'i Communication Studies
Trenton Word Civil Engineering

Parents Leadership Council Award

Jackson Bradford Mechanical Engineering
Jessica Cruz-Vasquez Computer System Engineering
Jacob Decesare Civil Engineering
Leisli Duran-Rosales Mechanical Engineering
Phil Friedrich Mechanical Engineering
Bito Gervais Civil Engineering
Jaycen Harris Civil Engineering
Ian Jennings Biology
Miguel Juarez Psychology
Marylyn Key Art
Khoa Pham Exercise and Sport Science
Zacorey Smith Physics
Yubo Song Biochemical Engineering
Dan Triplett Social Studies Education

Horton-Devore Leadership Award

Alex George Business

William C. and Maudie M. Huff Student Veteran Scholarship

Allen Espinal Computer Science

Richard and Sherry Barrett Scholarship

Collier Scofield Sport Management

Whitley Family Scholarship

Nicholas Hardt Microbiology
William Lord Electrical and Electronics Engineering
Conner Nolan International Affairs

Colonel and Mrs. James A. Franklin Student Veterans Scholarship

Randall Borell Landscape Architecture Gabriela Castillo Biology Anna Raicovi International Affairs Ryan Stratton Accounting

John and Barbara Dowd Military Order of the Purple Heart Scholarship

Kendal Holmes Computer Science

Jeff Reed Family Scholarship

Quintin Gregory Management

Schaknowski Military Appreciation Scholarship

Mitchell Branan Economics
Randy Bynum Master of Business Administration
Bret Dunn Master of Business Administration
John Gynnip Master of Business Administration
Tanya Smith Master of Business Administration

Gregory and Barbara Rizzo Veterans Scholarship

Brandon McGinnis Economics

Kropp Student Veterans Scholarship

John Gooden Economics

David and Debbie Rosenthal Student Veterans Scholarship

Jason Fenn Economics
Jonathan Florencio Risk Management and Insurance
Joshua Gilbertson Accounting
Yen Le Management Information Systems
Tanya Smith Master of Business Administration
Lauren Teal Master of Business Administration

Nancy Wright Whatley Student Veteran Scholarship

Paul Jones Accounting Clinton Maxwell Economics John Valenti Management

Yates Family Scholarship for Student Veterans

Jordan Williams Accounting

Penn and Cynthia Hodge Scholarship for Student Veterans

Nicholas King Real Estate John Valenti Management

Atlanta Vietnam Veterans Business Association Foundation Award

Elias Gandy Biological Engineering

The Grit Award Presented by Richard Warner

Daniel Barnett Entertainment and Media Studies
Johnathon Dahman Biomedical Physiology
Matteo Garza Financial Planning
Patrick Hamilton Journalism
Shakine Hardaway Computer Science
Jimmy Humphrey Sport Management
Mason Nolan International Affairs
Kelly Quinn-Echevarria Nutritional Sciences
Sean Travis Computer Science

George and Denise Clark Student Veteran Scholarship

Evan Southern Finance

SVRC Impact Award - Made Possible by Hoke and Mickey Wilder Alanna Ledvina Art

Guy Millner Family Foundation Award

Merritt Ainslie Specialist in Education

Lt Col James Roy Malone Sr. Student Veteran Scholarship Hunter Pruett Agribusiness

The Terry College Student Veterans Scholarship

Master of Business Administration

Matthew Blackburn
Patrick Casey
Amber Siguenza
Tanya Smith

Lauren Teal Timothy Tucker Adam Weese

UGA Foundation Award

Georgia Albino

PhD in Kinesiology

Chad Armstrong

Master of Business Administration

Andrea Bell

Juris Doctor

Scott Blackstock

Master of Science in Civil and Environmental Engineering

Sarah Bouchard

Master of Fine Arts

Christina Broski

Doctor of Veterinary Medicine

Nelson Caviness

Master of Business Administration

Samantha Chesnut

Master of Social Work

Jalvnn Colvin

Master of Social Work

Aisha Cooper

Master of Science in Comparative Biomedical Science

Katie Cunningham

Master of Social Work

McKenzie Dacus

Master of Natural Resources

Ryan Emilio

Master of Social Work

Butler Evans

Political Science

Guv Evertson

PhD in Political Science and International Affairs

UGA Foundation Award

Tim Fitzgerald
Doctor of Musical Arts

Susan FitzmauriceMaster of Education

Gina GreatPhD in Educational Psychology

Jasmine Grier
Master of Science in Kinesiology

Steven GriffingPhD in Workforce Education

William Hinrichs
Master of Science in Geography

Cliff Hodges
Juris Doctor

Taylor HowardMaster of Arts in History

Brown JamesPhD in Mass Communication

Daniel KimMaster of Business Administration

Jeff Leppo
PhD in Political Science and
International Affairs

William Mattox
Juris Doctor

Nicholas Mischanko
Master of Business Administration

Brigman Moore
Juris Doctor

Noell Phillips
Master of Education in
Learning, Leadership and
Organizational Development

Laura Starling
Juris Doctor

William Turcios

Master of Science in

Nutritional Sciences

Gilbert Villagrana
Doctor of Musical Arts

Shuntorria Wallace Master in the Study of Law

Tracie Watkoske-BaconMaster of Business Administration

Aaliyah Williams Master of Social Work













